Dinner Successes!

For the most part, I’m responsible for dinner in our house.  My husband is one of those people who can just open the refrigerator, peer inside and, voila!!, about 20 minutes later something wonderful is on the table.  I am not one of those people.

Cooking for me requires planning, a recipe, and plenty of time to chop everything up.  Its a process.  I’m not saying I don’t enjoy cooking, I’m just saying that I need plenty of time to do it.

Husband likes bold, spicy flavors.  I tend to like things that are luscious and creamy.  So, I was super pleased with myself when I came up with a couple of dinner successes this week.  (Thank you Pinterest.)

First up was Chili-Lime-Mango Chicken:  http://www.cottercrunch.com/chili-lime-mango-marinated-chicken-bowls/  Time to find the perfect marinated chicken recipe you over and over again! Like this Gluten Free Chili-Lime Mango Marinated Chicken Bowl recipe. This Marinated Chicken recipe is super easy to make, healthy, dairy free, and delicious! A great way to learn how to cook with wine and use it in a light marinade.(The above is the photo off the website – mine wasn’t nearly as fancy looking!). The sauce is really a beautiful orange color and was easy to make.  The kids thought it was a bit too spicy even after I added extra orange juice and honey to try to tone it down a bit.  Best of all, husband liked it!!!

Next was One Pan Mexican Quinoa:  http://damndelicious.net/2014/04/09/one-pan-mexican-quinoa/One Pan Mexican Quinoa - Wonderfully light, healthy and nutritious. And it's so easy to make - even the quinoa is cooked right in the pan!

This was really, really easy to make.  My youngest wouldn’t eat it because she doesn’t like corn but everyone else in the house thought it was great.  It is super light and healthy.

Crossing my fingers for more yummy-ness next week!

Author: StoriLines

California girl, attorney, mom, wife. Things I love (in no particular order): the beach, rain, my kids, all my pets, reading, traveling, coffee!

3 thoughts on “Dinner Successes!”

Leave a Reply

